Oregon is a shall-issue state that processes and issues concealed handgun licenses at county level by the local sheriff’s office.
While it’s a shall-issue state, the sheriff still has some discretion when it comes to permit issuance if there are reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant might result as a danger to self or others.
Residents in Oregon are not required to have a license to purchase a firearm. However, private-party firearms transfers must be conducted through a licensed firearms dealer with both parties present.
A background check and record of the sale is also required by federal law. All gun sale records from firearm dealers will be kept with the Oregon State Police for five years.
Openly carry of firearms without a license is legal in Oregon. However, local cities and counties are authorized to place restrictions on who may perform open carry in public places including in vehicles.
Regardless, the min age for open carry is 18 years old and there are still off-limit areas where firearms are not permitted even with a license, such as federal facilities and Indian reservations.
For those who want to practice conceal carry in Oregon, you’ll need to have an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL).
Oregon CHL applicants must be at least 21 years old and can demonstrate competence with a handgun by successfully completing an approved firearms training course or through participation in organized shooting competition or military experience.
Non-residents who live in contiguous states may also apply for a CHL.
While Oregon law does not explicitly reference the Castle Doctrine nor have a “stand your ground” statute stated within, the state supreme court has held that residents do not have a duty to retreat before using force for self-defense purposes in areas where the person has the lawful right to be.
Oregon law also allows the use of deadly force if the person reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent certain property crimes.
Use of Force
The use of physical force by a person is justified for self-defense or defense of another if the person reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent or terminate the commission of the following crimes:
- Theft or criminal mischief of property
- Criminal trespass by another in or upon the premises
- A burglary in a dwelling
Use of Deadly Force
The use of deadly force by a person can be justified when used in defense of a person or when the person reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent the commission of arson or a felony by force and violence.
Deadly force is justifiable when the person reasonably believes that the other person is:
- Committing or attempting to commit a felony involving the use of physical force against a person.
- Committing or attempting to commit burglary in a dwelling.
- Using or about to use unlawful deadly physical force against a person.
Information on Oregon Gun Laws
Does Oregon local gun laws allow constitutional carry?
No. Oregon law does not allow constitutional carry in its state.
Does Oregon allow open carry of firearms?
Yes, residents can openly carry their handguns without a license in Oregon.
However, local counties can prohibit open carry for those without an Oregon CHL, examples of counties prohibiting open carry of loaded firearms without a license include Portland, Beaverton, Tigard, Oregon City, Salem and Independence, plus the entirety of Multnomah County.
What’s the minimum age required to apply for a CHL?
The min age for a valid concealed handgun license is 21 years old.
Does Oregon have restrictions on magazine capacity for handguns?
No, Oregon does not have handgun magazine capacity limits.
Does Oregon have restrictions on ammunition?
Yes, Oregon does not permit the possession of Teflon-coated handgun ammunition or handgun ammunition coated with any chemical compound with similar properties to Teflon, and which is intended to penetrate soft body armor.
Key State Laws
Is there a duty to inform police officers in Oregon that you’re carrying a firearm concealed?
No, Oregon does not impose its residents a duty to inform police officers that they carry a concealed firearm.
Is the carry license linked to Oregon’s driver’s license?
Yes, Oregon concealed carry handgun license is linked to your driver’s license which means that the law enforcement officer will be immediately notified that you are a concealed carry driver holder when they run your driver’s license.
Does Oregon have preemption laws related to handguns being carry concealed?
Yes, Oregon state has preemption firearms except cities may regulate the discharge of firearms within the city’s boundaries and regulate/restrict/prohibit the possession of loaded firearms in public areas.
Does Oregon have a red flag law?
Yes, Oregon has a red flag law where a law enforcement officer or family member may file a petition enjoining the person from having, owning, purchasing, or receiving a deadly weapon.
Location Restrictions in Oregon
Places where you can carry a concealed gun in Oregon
Concealed handgun license holders can carry a concealed handgun in:
- Bars and restaurants that serve alcohol.
- Roadside rest areas.
- State/national parks, state/national forests, and WMAs
- Places of worship provided that there are no signs prohibiting firearms.
- Public buildings including a hospital, a capitol building, a public or private school property, a college or university, a city hall or the residence of any state official elected by the state at large, and the grounds adjacent to each such building except court facilities.
Places where you cannot carry a concealed gun in Oregon even with a permit/license:
- Public buildings including colleges and universities as well as adjacent grounds.
- The Capitol
- Terminal of Portland International Airport
- School grounds, community colleges, and universities with signs prohibiting firearms.
- Court facilities
- Department of correction facilities.
- Commission for the blind property
- Posted private businesses or private properties.
- National parks/forests with signs prohibiting all firearms.
- Secured areas of airports.
- Indian reservations or property
- Any place prohibited by federal law or state law.
Oregon Concealed Carry License Information
Applicants for Oregon’s CHL must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Be able to demonstrate competence with a handgun.
- Provide proof of residency.
- Have a current address on his or her driver’s license.
- Be a citizen of the United States.
- Not have been convicted of a felony.
- Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor within 4 years prior to application.
- Not have been committed to Oregon Health Authority.
- Not have been found mentally ill or subject to an order that prohibits the person from purchasing or possessing firearm as a result of mental illness.
- Not have any outstanding warrants for his or her arrest.
- Not have been convicted of an offense involving controlled substances or participated in a court-supervised drug diversion program.
- Not be on any form of pretrial release.
- Not be registered as a sex offender in any state.
- Not have been discharged from the jurisdiction of a juvenile court 4 years prior to application.
- Not have received dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces.
- Not be a subject to a citation for stalking or a protective order
- Meet federal law requirements.
Fee: Initial $115, Renewals $75
Validity: 4 Years
Processing Time: 45 days
Oregon Concealed Handgun License Application Process
Step 1: Complete a firearms training course
Step 2: Complete the application.
Step 3: Take the completed application to the county sheriff’s office with the following documents:
- Training course certificate;
- Stamped, self-addressed envelope in which to mail your license; and
- 2 forms of ID.
Step 4: Undergo fingerprinting process.
Step 5: Wait for notification on application status.
Oregon Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States
Which states’ permits does Oregon honor?
Oregon does not honor any concealed carry licenses from other states.
Other States’ Reciprocity With Oregon
- Arkansas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
- Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
- Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
- Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
- New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
- North Carolina
- South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
- Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Oregon require background checks when purchasing firearms?
Yes, Oregon requires private or unlicensed firearm sellers to conduct a background check on prospective private or unlicensed firearm purchasers. Oregon law also requires the purchaser to undergo a background check before buying a gun at a gun show.
However, background checks are not required for the sale or transfer of a firearm to immediate family members, including parents, stepparents, grandparents, spouses, domestic partners, siblings, children, stepchildren, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews and cousins.
What are Extreme Risk Protection Orders (ERPO)?
ERPOs allow families and law enforcement officers to ask a court to temporarily suspend a person’s access to firearms to prevent tragedies. Petitioners must produce documented evidence that the person is a threat to him or herself or others.
Does Oregon have child access prevention?
Yes, Oregon has passed the SB 554B Legislature which requires firearms to be secured unless the owner or possessor of the firearm is closed enough to it to prevent another who is unauthorized from obtaining the firearm.
Does Oregon have a waiting period during the purchase of a firearm?
No, Oregon does not impose a waiting/cooling off period between the purchase and taking possession of a firearm.
Is there a minimum age to purchase or possess a firearm in Oregon?
Oregon prohibits anyone under 18 years old to possess a firearm unless the gun is not a handgun and it was transferred with the minor’s parent’s consent and the temporary possession is for a lawful purpose. Oregon law also prohibits the sale or transfer of a firearm to anyone under 18 years old with the same exceptions.
Does Oregon require guns to meet specific safety standards?
No. Oregon does not require guns to meet any safety standards. The state also does not limit the sale or possession of military-style semiautomatic assault rifles such as an AR-15.
Does Oregon have a limit on an extended capacity magazine?
No, Oregon does not limit the number of rounds in a magazine except when used for hunting. Oregon Fish and Wildlife cartridge limit for bird hunting is 3 and 5 for large game. However, the state does not limit the number of cartridges for shooting at people.
Does Oregon allow open carry of firearms?
Yes, Oregon does not prohibit open carry of handguns or long guns on the person in public.
How do I transport a gun in a vehicle?
Those who are not concealed handgun license holders must ensure that the gun being transported is not concealed and not readily accessible.
Can a business or private property owner ban firearms from their property?
Yes, business or private property owners can ban the carrying of weapons on their property. This rule applies even to concealed handgun license holders.
Do I need to inform the police that I am carrying a handgun?
No, there’s no duty to inform a police officer that you’re carrying a handgun.
Can concealed handgun license holders carry any weapon?
No. the concealed handgun license only allows you to carry a concealed handgun.
Can I appeal if I am denied a CCW license?
Yes, a petition can be filed in the circuit court within 30 days from receiving your denial or revocation letter.
Where can I apply for a CCW license?
CCW licenses can be applied at the local county sheriff’s office where you reside in.
Does Oregon concealed carry laws have reciprocity with other states?
No, Oregon does not allow people with CHL from other states to carry concealed in Oregon. Gun owners from states bordering Oregon may request a CHL from border county sheriffs.
Does Oregon law allows openly carrying firearms?
Yes, Oregon does not prohibit the public to bear arms openly in public regardless of whether the dangerous weapon is a handgun or a long gun.
What are the Oregon laws on unlawful possession and purchases of handguns?
does not allow unlawful possession or purchases of handguns. The state prohibits people convicted of misdemeanor involving violence and stalking from purchasing or possessing firearms.
Hello there, it’s Michael here. A gun lover since young, served the country for the last 20 years. I started the blog to share my experience and gun-related knowledge accumulated throughout the years. Hopefully, you will find something useful over here or just have fun! You can learn more about me here.